AnglingTrust The voice of Angling

News

Do you want to join the Voluntary Bailiff Service?

27.06.16

VBS Training x 550

The Voluntary Bailiff Service is now recruiting for more Phase 1 volunteers to join the 250 anglers now trained to report incidents and support the Environment Agency and police in protecting fish and fisheries.

The VBS is funded by freshwater rod-licence income and covers the whole of England, which is sub-divided into six regions.

Phase 1 volunteers are trained by the Angling Trust, EA and police, and are provided AT badged clothing, reference materials, and report via an online, secure, website. Volunteers can contribute as many or as few hours as they wish, and are supported by their Regional Enforcement Manager and Area Coordinator. Volunteers have the opportunity to participate in joint patrols with the EA and police, and receive ongoing training.

VBS Emblem 55px

Phase 2, in which carefully selected volunteers are trained and empowered to directly support and work alongside the EA, is currently being introduced as a pilot project in SE Region. It is hoped that this initiative will be extended, so Phase 1 provides an important opportunity for sutiable volunteers to be identified, and for volunteers to get more involved.

A short film made at a VBS induction and training day can be found here.  

The next six inductions will be held this autumn.

Anyone requiring further information regarding the VBS should speak with their relevant Regional Enforcement Manager.

Area                  REM                         Contact
North West       David Lees        david.lees@anglingtrust.net
North East        Giles Evans       giles.evans@anglingtrust.net
South East       Gary Lawless      gary.lawless@anglingtrust.net
South West      Nevin Hunter      nevin.hunter@anglingtrust.net
Eastern            Paul Thomas      paul.thomas@anglingtrust.net
Midlands          Kevin Pearson    kevin.pearson@anglingtrust.net

Anyone wishing to apply for VBS should contact the Fisheries Enforcement Support Service Administrator, Karen Sarkar:
karen.sarkar@anglingtrust.net


Contact: Angling Trust Eastwood House, 6 Rainbow Street, Leominster, Herefordshire HR6 8DQ
Tel: 0343 5077006 (For Membership enquiries select Option 1) |
Calls to our 0343 number are charged at the same rate as normal landline numbers.
Office hours are Mon - Thu 9.00-5.00 and Fri 4.30. Please leave a message if you call outside these hours or email us.
Email: admin@anglingtrust.net
twitter_icon_large facebook_icon_large
Angling Trust Limited is a company limited by guarantee, company number 05320350

Site by Nemisys
Powered by FixturesLive